Paid for by American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, Inc. Not authorized by a candidate or committee controlled by a candidate.
Snuff Tobacco Money Out of California Politics

Current Legislators Who’ve Stood Up to Big Tobacco

A brand new report from researchers at the University of California, San Francisco shows that tobacco costs our state $18.1 billion a year. That comes out to $487 per Californian and $4,603 per smoker. Almost 15 percent of deaths in California in 2009 are attributed to smoking, for a total of 34,363 deaths. This represents $6.8 billion in lost productivity and 587,000 years of potential life lost. Tobacco costs Medi-Cal $2.9 billion every year as a direct expense to the taxpayer.

No other companies or entities that make political donations in California are as morally bankrupt as the tobacco companies. More than a billion people across the globe will die this century from tobacco-related illness if current trends hold. Just as Big Tobacco seeks to hook young and low-income people to cigarettes, they are also seeking to hook politicians on tobacco money.

ACS CAN wishes to thank these legislators who have stood up to Big Tobacco and publicly agreed to forgo campaign donations from tobacco companies. They are doing their part to stop the cycle of addiction and death.


Controller Betty Yee

California Senate

Senator Richard Pan, MD SD 6
Senator Scott Wiener SD 11
Senator Anna Caballero SD 12
Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson SD 19
Senator Connie Leyva SD 20
Senator Ben Allen SD 26
Senator Jeff Stone SD 28
Senator Holly Mitchell SD 30

California Assembly

Speaker of the Assembly Anthony Rendon

Assemblymember Jim Wood AD 2
Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry AD 4
Assemblymember Kevin McCarty AD 7
Assemblymember Jim Cooper AD 9
Assemblymember Tony Thurmond AD 15
Assemblymember David Chiu AD 17
Assemblymember Rob Bonta AD 18
Assemblymember Phil Ting AD 19
Assemblymember Kansen Chu AD 25
Assemblymember Anna Caballero AD 30
Assemblymember Joaquin Arambula, MD AD 31
Assemblymember Laura Friedman AD 43
Assemblymember Matt Dababneh AD 45
Assemblymember Richard Bloom AD 50
Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia AD 56
Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes AD 60
Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva AD 65
Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi AD 66
Assemblymember Todd Gloria AD 78
Assemblymember Shirley Weber AD 79
Board of Equalization Member  BOE 2